One Word 2013 Recap and 2014’s Word…

2013.  The word was “THRIVE.”  Maybe I was hoping for some sort of prosperity gospel, or a “believe it – speak it and it shall come to pass” theology.  No, of course I don’t believe or follow either of those (well, I do believe the Bible and speak its truth, but not in a “get-what-I-want” kind of way), but I was hopeful.  After a few years of struggling on many fronts, I was hopeful that 2013 would be the year that we would “THRIVE” in our church, in our finances, in our serving, in our giving, in our joy.  And what happened – our church closed; our finances – well without being a Senorita Whiney-Pants, it would be really helpful if Kevin and I were both employed at the same time – for REALLLZZZ 🙂 ; giving and serving – well, we spent some time regrouping and joy – yes, even in the midst of a lot of crap, because God is awesome and sovereign and amazing and loving – we even experienced JOY.  In 2013 we discovered Resilient Grace, saw Miracles in the Mess (when my uncle’s house blew up), saw Beauty from Ashes right before our eyes, continued taking baby steps in Faith and Trust, experienced some Defining Moments and even had/have Peace.  Would I call that thriving? Not really.  (I’m so spiritual :p). 

God was and is faithful to sustain us.  But in the ways I was looking for, I wouldn’t use the word “thrive” to categorize 2013… on one hand.  On another hand, sustaining in Christ is thriving, isn’t it?  Without Christ we would be desolate, without hope, destroyed.   But in Christ, we thrive because “ We are pressured in every way but not crushed; we are perplexed but not in despair; we are persecuted but not abandoned; we are struck down but not destroyed.”  2 Cor. 4:8-9.  Ahhhhh, thank You, Jesus.

So in pondering what would my “One Word” for 2014 be – based on all that unexpected stuff that happened in 2013 – all that comes to me is “I Don’t Freaking Know!”  Is that a word???   Because I have no idea what 2014 has in store.  We do have some direction and some plans in the works, but I’m reminded of two verses:

We can make our plans, but the Lord determines our steps. Prov. 16:9

 Look here, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we are going to a certain town and will stay there a year. We will do business there and make a profit.”  How do you know what your life will be like tomorrow? Your life is like the morning fog—it’s here a little while, then it’s gone.  What you ought to say is, “If the Lord wants us to, we will live and do this or that.” James 4:13-15

So yeah, we have our plans and we’re continuing down a path (to be shared soon!), but it is completely dependent on the Lord’s will.  The Lord is the One who will determine our steps throughout 2014.  If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.  I don’t freaking know what that looks like… but in a “Jesus take the wheel” kind of way, I will follow.  He’s in control; I am not… no matter how much kicking and screaming, planning and organizing I do it’s all up to if the Lord wills.  My responsibility is to followGood thing we have a God that is faithful and trustworthy to be followed.  Have a blessed New Year!

~Kendra

PS – Some 2013 Highlights, Blessings and Fun Times

Kicked of 2013 in Connecticut

7th Grade Basketball – Emma

High School Softball – Julia

Fun with Friends

Another year with LifePoint

Michigan was in the Final Four!!

Florida for my 40th!!

Brian Regan with Joey!

Travel Softball – Julia/Emma

Weddings

Love our FaMiLiEs!

New Job! (contract)

BFF for the 4th of July!!

Joey to New Mexico

Closing LP – God is Sovereign

Football – Joey

Cedar Point!

New job!

Camp Storer

MiChIGaN Game!

National Honor Society – Emma

TSO

Talent Show WINNER! – Joey

New stuff on the horizon!!

Dang…. We’re blessed!

4 thoughts on “One Word 2013 Recap and 2014’s Word…

  1. Pingback: Follow #oneword365 for 2014 | The Grub Hub

  2. Hi! I just found your blog through One Word’s website when I was looking at who else is choosing “follow” for this year, and I love this post. James 4 is a passage that I read this year, too, and it’s convicting right? I want to this year to be marked by uninterrupted following Christ in my thoughts, prayers, actions, finances, etc. and I do so hope it leads to thriving. But you’re so right – we’re thriving when we’re sustaining in Christ. I’m glad I stopped by and I hope that 2014 is full of many blessings for you!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Follow (February #OneWord365 Update) | The Grub Hub

Any thoughts??

