Wrestling the WHYs

Recently a friend posted on Facebook about understanding the “whys”.  The Lord brought a verse to mind so I shared the following with her there, and with you all here:

Those things in life that cause us to ask WHY – whether it be a child with special needs, financial distress, an unfaithful spouse, betrayal of a friend and on and on – are those same things that, while so difficult, are what draw us to further dependence on Him. “Therefore, so that I would not exalt myself, a thorn in the flesh was given to me, a messenger of Satan to torment me so I would not exalt myself. Concerning this, I pleaded with the Lord three times to take it away from me. But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Therefore, I will most gladly boast all the more about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may reside in me. So I take pleasure in weaknesses, insults, catastrophes, persecutions, and in pressures, because of Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Cor 12:7-10

The NLT says it this way, “I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

Illness.  Conflict.  Worry/strife.  Persecution.  Homesickness.  Loneliness.  Frustration.  Guilt. Whatever struggle you are facing, have faced or will face can either draw you away from God or you can run TO God.  He already knows.  He cares. He doesn’t expect you to go it alone, so depend on HIM.  Cry out to HIM.

Out of the depths I call to You, Yahweh!

Lord, listen to my voice; let Your ears be attentive to my cry for help.

I wait for Yahweh. I wait and put my hope in His word.

Put your hope in the Lord.

For there is faithful love with the Lord and with Him is redemption in abundance.

Psalm 130:1-2, 5, 7

This was written about/to Israel.  That in their desperation they cried out to God, they waited and put their HOPE in His word.  And in Him is redemption in abundance.  He is worthy to be trusted with your WHY.  And in dependence on Him, in the power of Christ, in His sufficient grace you will be strong and you can and will get through.  With hope of abundant redemption.

One thought on “Wrestling the WHYs

  1. Dear Kendra,
    I really like your article. I have had to ask WHY so many times in my life, and most of the times because i did not understand what God was up to. But in all this, i have learned to trust God and He has never failed me. When we ask why, we should go ahead to ask Him what He wants us to do.

    Like

Any thoughts??

