WE ARE – MARSHALL – A Defining Moment

Defining Moments – we all have had them. Some we don’t remember, some we like to forget, and some are much needed.  In these moments there will be times when things just don’t make sense to us; heartbreak, discouragement, or defeat.  Deep down we know that God has a reason for why He allows things to happen, but near the surface we just don’t understand. In the last four months I have had not one but two defining moments. One that knocked the wind out of me and the other that gave me breath and life again.

The first defining moment was the day we closed our church plant (LifePoint) of about five years. I didn’t understand why God would allow that to happen. Why would God call us to plant a church then take it away?  Why would God have me (and my family) give everything we had physically, emotionally, financially, and spiritually to something that He was going to take away? I felt like someone punched me right in the gut! I felt the wind leave and I was left gasping for air.  For a while all I could do was continue to beat myself up, ask questions like, why? What didn’t we do right? Did I not listen to God’s voice? Did I try and do it on my own? Or I would think, “Kevin, you failed!”  “Kevin, people don’t like you!”  “Kevin, you’re a loser!”  All throughout this time I was gasping for air, begging God to heal me and my wounds.  One thing I never did throughout this time, by the GRACE of God, was lose heart.  Not that it was the first thing that was on my mind, but like I said down deep I knew God was and IS faithful and would restore my breath.  Here are a few verses that God gave me during this time.

So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal. 2 Corinthians 4:16-18

Over the next few months I stumbled through the scriptures, allowing God’s infallible Word to speak to me and heal me from the inside out. I was reading but just not totally believing. I went about life, because it  does in fact go on, but actually was in mourning on the inside. It just felt like a part of me had died, and it had.

Then came the second defining moment where God restored my breath and gave me life once again. It was one of those moments that you aren’t expecting. It wasn’t the right timing. I wasn’t in a solitude place where it was just God, me and my Bible – but to God it was the perfect time.  I had been cleaning up around house, when I noticed it was lunchtime.  I made some lunch and sat down in front of the T.V.  Being honest, I never eat in front of the T.V., but this day I did.  As I was flipping through the channels, I came across the movie “We Are Marshall”.  It was about half over, so I decided to finish it while I ate my lunch.

“We Are Marshall” is based on a true story (I recommend you watch it) about a plane crash involving the University of Marshall’s football team and the heartbreak the whole town was going through.  Basically, the movie shows how the town was in mourning.  They brought a new football coach in to try and get them back on their feet.  For the coach it was an uphill battle.  It didn’t matter what he did, he kept running into this wall of heartbreak and mourning.  That is kind of how I felt, heartbreak and mourning. In a lot of ways, I felt unable to move forward, paralyzed and insignificant.  ~ Back to the movie… The morning before the first home game, the coach took the team on a field trip to the cemetery.  He had the players gather around a memorial that was set up for six of the players that were buried together because their bodies could  not be identified.  That is where he gave them a pregame speech and it was during this speech that I had a defining moment, all because of one line! Now, the crazy thing is, I have watched this movie many times and for the life of me cannot remember ever hearing this line before.  If you don’t really listen for it, it is easy to miss. Near the end of coach’s speech, he looks at the team and says, “The funerals end today!!” That is when air came back into my lungs.  I sat there, stunned and in tears. Hearing God’s voice saying to me, “Kevin, the funeral ends today! Stop mourning, and start breathing! I have told you I will never leave you nor forsake you. I am not done with you yet.  I am going to continue to use you for My glory, so stop mourning and breath in the Breath of Life.”

I still don’t have all the answers.  Maybe someday I will, maybe I won’t.  But what I do know is the funeral is over and God is in control!

So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal. 2 Corinthians 4:16-18

I’ll close with a clip of the movie, “We Are Marshall”.  Check it out!

-Kevin

One thought on “WE ARE – MARSHALL – A Defining Moment

  1. Pingback: One Word 2013 Recap and 2014′s Word… | The Grub Hub

Any thoughts??

