What If I…

My heart swelled with Mama pride and my heart bursted with love as I watched Julia run her first ever Cross Country Race. She had never run before on a team like this and this was WAY out of her comfort zone.   She wasn’t a “natural”… no, she worked for every step. My heart pounded for her and my eyes glistened with tears each time we could catch a glimpse of her on the course and we cheered her on with all we had.  She asked before the race, “Mom/Dad, what if I come in last?”  Our answer, “We are so proud of you for even being out here and if you finish and you come in last, we will still be proud of you.  We love you so much!”

She finished.  She didn’t come in last.  She rocked the time and continued to improve throughout the season.

We do that sometimes with God, too.  We ask, “What if I…” would He still love me?

What if I fail a test in school?

What if I mess up my marriage?

What if I am addicted to _______?

What if I have sex before marriage?

What if I don’t read my Bible?

What if I swear, cheat, lie…?

What if I screw up financially?

What if I don’t want to go to church?

What if I am mean to others?

… will God still love me?  The answer is

YES!

God says, “I have loved you with an everlasting love.” Jer 31:3.  He sees us running our race and looks upon us with Daddy pride, His heart bursting with LOVE.  When we stumble, when we fall, when we screw things up, when we come in last – His love doesn’t change.   Now that’s a Daddy we can trust in!

Those who trust in the Lord will renew their strength; they will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary; they will walk and not faint.  Isa. 40:31

Any thoughts??

