Running Injured

Several years ago I dealt with a heel spur/plantar fasciitis. They pretty much go hand in hand. It pretty much affected every part of my daily life. I’ve been so thankful that throughout all this running, that hasn’t flared up again… until about two weeks ago. And it came back with a bang :(. There were times when we were running that I just had to stop and walk, and even walking wasn’t pleasant. Then, the next couple of days were so painful too. Another time I just sucked it up and ran with the pain. Obviously, it wasn’t my best run… I gave myself a three day rest and really worked on stretching my feet, calves etc. to get some relief and sure enough I’m doing ok. Tuesday night was probably the longest run we’ve done thus far (by accident…. we misunderstood/misjudged the distance of the Findlay Reservoir, ha ha) and my foot felt great! With one week until the Color Run, I’m adamant about stretching, taking my Replenex, and even ibuprofen or naproxen.

That’s how it is in life. Sometimes you get injured. Most of us try to “run injured” when really what we need is to take time out and rest. Get some healing. Do some stretches or exercises to get back in the race. God gives us an Rx when life has us running injured: rest in Him, trust Him, spend time with Him.

“Come to Me, all of you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” Matt. 11:28

“Lord my God, I cried to You for help, and You healed me.” Psalm 30:2

“The Lord will always lead you, satisfy you in a parched land, and strengthen your bones. You will be like a watered garden and like a spring whose waters never run dry.” Isaiah 58:11

“May our Lord Jesus Christ Himself and God our Father, who has loved us and given us eternal encouragement and good hope by grace, encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good work and word.” 2 Thes. 2:16-17

Are you “running injured?”. Come to Jesus for rest, help, healing and strength.

One thought on “Running Injured

  1. Pingback: If It’s Good Enough For Olympic Athletes… | The Grub Hub

Any thoughts??

