Some Plant

This is my 3rd year doing a garden.  The 1st year I bought all of my plants from a greenhouse and then planted them in my garden. (That year we had about 1000 plants in an 8×8 plot garden…. a little exaggeration, but we did have  LOT of plants in that little space.)  Then, last year and this year I started most of my plants by seeds. Tomatoes. Jalapeños. Cucumbers.  Green Beans. Last year’s garden did ok, but not great.  Not good enough to even can salsa :/.  This year I tried seeds again.  I planted them late and they really never took off. I ended up buying some tomato plants from a greenhouse.  Then, I bought a few green pepper and jalapeño plants. Then, I bought a few more tomato plants. Then, some more pepper plants (green, jalapeno, habanero, ghost chile) and some salad plants.  However, I did plant cucumber seeds and green bean seeds right into the garden and they are doing GREAT!

I planted the cucs and the beans and I’m also taking care of them (watering and weeding).

But, someone else planted the many tomato plants and pepper plants.  Now, I’m watering them (and will reap the benefits).

That reminds me of those verses in 1 Corinthians 3.  How God used Paul and Apollos in different ways, “I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God has been making it grow. So neither the one who plants nor the one who waters is anything, but only God, who makes things grow. The one who plants and the one who waters have one purpose, and they will each be rewarded according to their own labor. For we are co-workers in God’s service; you are God’s field, God’s building.”

We may be the one to plant a seed.  We may be the one to sustain it, water it, nurture it. And God is the One who makes things grow.  Each of us have a purpose. Sometimes we will see the fruit (reap the harvest) of that planting or watering, sometimes we won’t. The point is to remain faithful to the garden (ministry).

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. Gal. 6:9

Any thoughts??

