I Just Wanna Harvest

20120621-092930.jpg

I have spent the past couple of mornings out in the garden, hoeing. I went out before the heat of the day to hoe away weeds that have been growing incessantly. This is not my favorite part of gardening, but it must be done. When I first decided to plant a garden, three years ago, I imagined just planting some plants and getting a bountiful harvest to make salsa and eat fresh veggies. Of course, now three years later I’ve learned some things about gardening and know it’s a lot more than that. There’s tilling, weeding, watering, de-bugging. Is it worth it? Yes. Nothing beats fresh veggies from the garden. And I love the “adventure” of planting new things, watching them mature and finally enjoying the juicy goodness.

Once upon a time, we were new (and naive) in ministry. I daydreamed about telling people about Jesus, them getting saved and living for Jesus. I imagined people hungry for God’s word and attendance at Bible Study would be standing room only. I pictured the joys of lives turned 180 following Jesus. Miracles. And all of that does and has happened. But, what I didn’t realize was all the weeds we would deal with; how Satan constantly attacks your family, dealing with sin (your own and that of your church members), crises, financial difficulty, people leaving your church without saying a word, people leaving your church and saying LOTS of words, personality conflicts, criticism etc. Yeah, there are a lot of weeds when serving/following Jesus. Is it worth it? If I answered honestly I would say sometimes it doesn’t feel like it. But, it is worth it. If “just one more soul were to walk down the aisle, it would be worth every struggle. It would be worth every trial.” I really just wanna harvest, but gardening (and ministry) is a total package. And by the grace of God and the power of His Holy Spirit we can press on; sowing, weeding, and harvesting for His glory.

One thought on “I Just Wanna Harvest

Any thoughts??

