Strengthening/Stretching Your Muscles

I  never thought in a million years that I would be able to run a mile without stopping.  But, my running mates and I did just that yesterday, and then ran another 3 minutes.  Wow. When we started week one, I ran like a little, ‘ol, Granny with gastrointestinal issues.  My feet barely got up off the ground. It was like I was doing the Granny Shuffle. Throughout this training, though, I’ve found that it’s actually better on my whole body (shins/calves especially) if I open up my stride a little bit.  That did more than lengthen my stride, it forced me to use muscles that have been dormant in this body of mine.  Some muscles got strengthened and stretched and now I can run farther and faster.  Sure, it took some getting used to, I felt some discomfort along the way – but the prize of reaching that next milestone (finishing the mile) is so rewarding.

There’s a lot of similarities to strengthening our physical muscles and strengthening our faith muscles.  Our faith is as active and alive as we let it be.  The more we use it, the stronger it is.  The more it is stretched, the greater and stronger it becomes. We can leave our faith in its infancy, trust Jesus for salvation for example, and never let it grow and mature OR we can continue to stretch and strengthen our faith muscles and see God do amazing things in, through and around us.  Sure, there’s some discomfort along the way, but the reward of seeing God move in ways we never thought possible is SO worth it.

Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible,                                               but not with God; all things are possible with God.” Matt. 10:27

“If you have faith the size of a mustard seed,” the Lord said, “you can say to this mulberry tree, ‘Be uprooted and planted in the sea,’ and it will obey you. Luke 17:6

Just like the rainbow God gave us right before we ran yesterday, God keeps His promises and He promises to bless our faith.  “I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth.” Gen 9:13

Any thoughts??

