Pulled some weeds today…

… and not just in my garden.

Ahhhhh, to get down and get dirty in my flowerbeds. This year they seemed even more overgrown with early spring weeds than any other year we’ve lived here.  I knew I had my work cut out for me so I did the front bed last week and tackled the backyard bed today.

Some of those stinkin’ things were so stinkin’ DEEP.  I had to pull with all the muscles I had in my legs and back (and I’m still feeling it…).  Other weeds were widespread, easy to pull but ALL.OVER.THE.PLACE.  Some weeds are sneaky – they actually look endearing, as if they were begging to be left since they “look” like they belong there, like a shrub or flowers.  I filled a whole black garbage bag with weeds from the front flowerbed, and another for those in the back.  And to think… I haven’t even touched the vegetable garden yet.  Well, those will be matched with the mega-tiller soon.  There’s no way I could tackle those on my own.

For me, garden time is my quiet place (one of them).  Usually it’s just me, God and the greenery.  I can chat quietly with my Father and He whispers to me with His sweet words.  Today we talked about sin.

Weeds are a lot like sin.  Sometimes they’re so DEEP that you have to use all your (faith) muscles to dig them out.  It requires work, it’s probably going to hurt, and the only way to ensure they don’t come back is to pull them from the root.  Other sins are WIDESPREAD.  It may be a common sin that “everyone’s doing” and you can justify it easily.  Those can be easier to “pull”, but just as necessary that they get rooted from the flowerbed. Finally, there are those SNEAKY sins.  They actually are pleasant to the eye, so one may think it’s ok to leave them there… but the truth is, they’re still sins.  They have to go. Time in the word and communication with the Master Gardener are essential to pulling all of these types of “weeds”.

Then, there’s those sins need the “mega-tiller”.  They need a serious movement from God, a changing of the heart (repentance) and a change of path.  They need to be ground up, chopped up and destroyed so they don’t return.  You have to pull out the big guns of accountability, extensive time in the TRUTH of God’s word, and powerful, constant and fervent prayer to blast away the weeds and have victory in the garden of your soul.

In order to prepare the flowerbed for a beautiful, bountiful array of flowers, the weeds have to go!  Weeds will overtake the flowers, strangle them, hide them, and steal the nutrients that they need.  You can’t have a flourishing garden and keep the weeds. The garden first needs to be cleared of the junk to be open and ready for the luscious growth.

WEEDS: Now the works of the flesh are obvious: sexual immorality, moral impurity, promiscuity, idolatry, sorcery, hatreds, strife, jealousy, outbursts of anger, selfish ambitions, dissensions, factions, envy, drunkenness, carousing, and anything similar.  Galatians 5: 19-21

PULL THEM OUT… TO MAKE ROOM FOR –

The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faith, gentleness, self-control. Against such things there is no law. Now those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. Since we live by the Spirit, we must also follow the Spirit. Galatians 5:22-25

SO WE CAN BE FRUITFUL FOR HIS GLORY!

Let’s pull out those sins from the roots, bag ‘em up and leave ‘em behind so we can live in the fertilized soil of His goodness.  You can’t have weeds AND fruit/flowers.  One of them has to go… I say WEEDS!

Any thoughts??

