Raising Katniss

Hunger Games.   A story of teenagers killing other teenagers.  Well, if that’s the only story line you’ve heard about, I can understand that you’d think it’s a bit grotesque, absurd, and unnecessary in this day and age.  But that’s not it.  (BTW, exit stage left if you haven’t read the books or watched the movie and are going to, because there may be “spoilers” below…)

I don’t want to focus on the whole story, but on one character. Katniss Everdeen. I absolutely loved her (and the actress they got to play her in the movie did a phenomenal job!).  She is such an example of courage and bravery.  She’s an example of character that stood strong amidst adverse situations. But, even more so, she was an example of putting others before herself… even to the point of willing to die for another.

No one has greater love than this, that someone would lay down his life for his friends. John 15:13  Hmmmmm, reminds me of Someone I know…

A friend noted this about Katniss, “She showed selfless love and was uncompromising in her convictions in the face of social pressure/survival.”

I want to raise a Katniss.  I want to raise two Katnisses.  I pray my daughters will grow up to have such courage and love for others (out of a love for Christ) that they would put others before themselves and live uncompromised.  Shoot. I want to be a Katniss.

Did you read/see Hunger Games?  What did you take away from it?

Any thoughts??

