Heartbeat

I’m so blessed, honored and excited that I will get to participate in the Heartbeat Rally this Tuesday in Columbus.  Here’s a blurb from their page: “When passed by the State Senate, the Heartbeat Bill will be the most protective law in the nation. Let’s do in the Ohio Senate what worked in the House!

Below is a repost of my thoughts of Horton Hears A… (March 2008)

Since we’re planning on seeing the movie soon, I read “Horton Hears a Who” to the kiddos this morning, and got MORE than I bargained for. It all started with the line: “A person’s a person, no matter how small.” Immediately, that made me think of the tiny babies of the world, nestled snug in their mother’s wombs. The Mommy, maybe even unaware that they have a lil’ pea living in their abdomen.
Then come the doubters, the skeptics… the kangaroos of the world, “A person on that? Why, there never has been.” (“Life doesn’t begin until birth”… and other lies.) But Horton pressed on, “I know there’s a person down there… Try not to disturb them. Just please let them be.” The skeptics insisted to Horton, “I think you’re a fool.” But Horton persisted, “I’ve got to protect them. I’m bigger than they. So he plucked up the clover and hustled away.” Then the part that really got me, when their little voices spoke up, brought me to tears. I’m sure my kids were wondering, why is Mom getting so emotional about “Horton Hears a Who”? The “whos” said, “We Whos are all thankful and grateful to you.” Next the Wickersham Brothers and Uncles, cousins In-Laws came and were going to BOIL the speck with the Whos. Horton, sweating in desperation cries out, “Oh, that you can’t do! It’s all full of persons! They’ll prove it to you!” So he tells the Whos they HAVE to make some noise or their all going to DIE! They cried, “We are here! We are here! We are here! We are here!” Finally, when they made all the noise they could, they cried out for more help, “We’ve GOT to make noises in greater amounts! So, open your mouth, lad! For every voice counts!”

And with that, they “proved they ARE persons, no matter how small.”

See, Horton stood up for those who couldn’t yet let their voice be heard. He spoke up for the “person, no matter how small.” Shouldn’t we be doing that exact same thing? Horton gets it! The phrase, “a person’s a person no matter how small” is strikingly similar to:

“I chose you before I formed you in the womb; I set you apart before you were born.” Jer. 1:5

“You knit me together in my mother’s womb.” Psalm 139:13

A person’s a person, whether held in a mother’s arms or nestled snug in the comforts of the womb, being knit together by God Himself. Why is that so hard for so many to understand?

10,023,935 and counting are the little voices that have said… “We are here! We are here! We are here! We are here!”

“We’ve GOT to make noises in greater amounts! So, open your mouth, lad! For every voice counts!”

If you live in Ohio – go to the Heartbeat Bill’s website to see how YOU can “open your mouth, for every voice counts!”

Any thoughts??

