Hugs from God

I’ll never forget one Easter as a young teenager.  I was sitting in the Sunrise Service and the sun was making its debut.  It reflected off the window and bounced right to where I was sitting. I could feel its warmth on my face.  It was like God gave me a hug and said, “I am here. I am alive. I love you.”  Easter has been my favorite holiday ever since that day, long before I became a born-again believer.  That hug was a seed He planted to know that He was real, He is love and the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus was true.

Since that day, there have been many hugs from God.  I remember one on a day that I was driving to a job interview.  A song came on the radio that spoke to me tremendously. It was as if I had written that song. I belted those words out and sang to God.  As I did, I felt His peace just swarm over me like an electric blanket.  A beautiful, warm hug from God. Another one came in the form of a blog post that met me exactly where I was.  This has actually happened several times.  God’s good like that.  Knowing someone is feeling or has felt the same way I have, or puts into words that pinpoint what’s going on in my own heart is a great way that God has given me hugs.   Other God-hugs come in the form of a verse/scripture that comes at just the right time, an encouraging word from a friend, shoot, even a TV show or movie (remember my Hannah Montana Movie Post? Ha ha).

God loves me.  God loves you and me and He often gives us hugs just to remind us of that.  Here are some hugs for you to receive today:

“I have loved you with an everlasting love. “Jer. 31:3

“No one has greater love than this, that someone would lay down his life for his friends.” John 13:15

“Love consists in this: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins.” 1 John 4:10

“He will give you another Counselor to be with you forever. He is the Spirit of truth…He remains with you and will be in you. I will not leave you as orphans; I am coming to you.” John 14:16-18

What are some HUGS you’ve received from God lately?

One thought on “Hugs from God

  1. Hi Kendra, I’ve never thought of all those special gifts as God-hugs before. From now on, I will cherish each one with that visual and the warmth of His embrace in my mind. Thank you.

    My most recent God-hug is a noticeable improvement this week in a medical condition I’ve been dealing with for almost a year. That hug makes me feel great! 🙂

    Like

Any thoughts??

