Do We REALLY Want To Know Him?

Phil. 3:10My goal is to know Him and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death.

All right – don’t jump ship – but I’m gonna pull out a lil’ Greek thanks to the kind folks at Eliyah.com to see if you and I REALLY want to know Him.  I don’t normally do the whole Greek/Hebrew thing, especially on this blog, but what’s in there is truly astounding and enlightening – and I don’t want to miss it.

My goal is to know Him

  • Know comes from the Greek word “ginosko.”
  • One of its definitions includes “to learn to know, get a knowledge of, perceive, feel” – That’s where spending time in God’s word is helpful – to ‘learn to know’ Him. ..
  • Ginosko is the same word that is used as a Jewish idiom for intercourse between a man/woman.  Holy Canolli, Paul REALLY wants to KNOW Christ.

Do you/I really want to know Christ as well as we know our spouse intimately?

And the power of His resurrection

  • Power comes from the Greek word “dynamis”.  You may be most familiar with its meaning in Acts 1:8,But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you…”
  • Dynamis is the same word that DYNAMITE comes from. 
  • It’s a “power residing in a thing by virtue of its nature” – it’s the power we have IN us because we have the Holy Spirit living within us. John 14:17
  • Resurrection: “Anastasis” – “a raising up, rising from the dead (that of Christ, that of all men at the end of the present age”

Do you/I really want to know the EXPLOSIVE power of Christ’s resurrection?

And the fellowship of His suffering

  • Fellowship – “koinonia” – “association, community, communion, joint participation, intercourse.”  Interesting intercourse is mentioned here again.  It’s easy to say, Yes, I want to KNOW Christ so intimately, as intimate as I physically, emotionally, spiritually know my spouse as listed above “My goal is to know Him”– but when talking fellowshipping in His suffering?  Do we want to know Him like THAT?
  • Suffering “pathema” – “that which one suffers or has suffered, externally, suffering, misfortune; the sufferings of Christ.”  If you have a hard time recalling or visualizing the sufferings of Christ, watch The Passion of the Christ. That’s a good reminder…

Do you/I really want to know and fellowship in Christ’s suffering?

Being conformed to his death

  • Death – Thanatos – death of the body, separation of body and soul, loss of a life consecrated to God and blessed in Him on earth

Do you/I really want to know and conform to Christ’s death?

Knowing Christ is amazing, but truly knowing Christ isn’t just warm and fuzzy.  If we truly want to know Christ, there’s a whole lot of yuckiness to know too.  Who wouldn’t want to know Christ so intimately that it’s compared to ‘knowing’ an earthly spouse? Who doesn’t want to know the power of Christ in our time here on earth?  But, who will willingly sign up for some suffering/death and know that as intimately as we ‘know’ our spouse?

I’ve been betrayed on some levels – but nothing like Christ has been betrayed – and it stings.  It’s bitter.  I’ve suffered on some levels – but nothing like Christ has suffered – and those weren’t fun times.  Devastating even.  I’ve felt beaten, broke-down, and discouraged at times.  So after all that, what’s my answer? Do I REALLY want to know Him?  Yes.  Even with betrayal, suffering, and discouragement – I want to KNOW Him.   Back up the bus a couple of verses to Phil. 3:8.:

More than that, I also consider everything to be a loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. Because of Him I have suffered the loss of all things and consider them filth, so that I may gain Christ.

When I get to know Christ – I get to gain Christ.  He is my everything.  He is hope.  He is love.  He is righteousness.   I’ll take the yucky that comes with knowing Him, then give me s’more Jesus.  There’s nothing like knowing Him.

How ‘bout you?  Do you REALLY want to know Him?

One thought on “Do We REALLY Want To Know Him?

  1. Yes! To press into Him so much that we can’t even begin to know where He begins and we end. Where we are just ONE with Him! True intimacy!

    Like

Any thoughts??

