Does Our Authenticity Bring God Glory?

On every front there’s a push to be transparent, authentic… real. With social media and blogging, there’s a never-ending outlet for sharing the good, the bad, the ugly.  I, like everyone else, have good days, bad days.  Shoot, good moments… bad moments. I have days I’m strong in my faith and days I’m sure Jesus just doesn’t know what to do with me (well, prolly not, cuz He’s God and all, but you know what I mean).  My heartfelt desire is to bring God glory, so sometimes I question if blogging or tweeting about a dark spot I’m in will do that.

I’m not talking about bein’ real like wearing no make-up, staying in my jammies til 3pm or eating through a whole package of Oreos :)… I’m talking about the shadows. Those ugly times where you’re stuck in a period of a lack of faith, dealing with anger, hurt, disappointment, frustration, pain, sin, grief, or hopelessness.  When my thoughts or my words or my actions are anything but Christ-honoring.  When I’m in that kind of spot(s), I know deep down God’s gonna pull me outta there. I KNOW in Whom I’ve believed and am persuaded that HE IS ABLE to guard what has been entrusted to me (2 Tim. 1:12). However, I don’t share in the thick of it.  I share once He’s pulled me outta it.  I share how He turned some things for good, or the work He’s done/doing in me.  I’m not fake in the meantime but I may carry a little less social media presence during those seasons.  I don’t know if that’s right or wrong… but that’s how I’ve handled bein’ real since the online era.

Several people in the Bible had no problem sharing the depths of their despair, suffering, feelings/emotions while facing various trials.  Some examples are:

  • Isaiah in Isaiah 6, “Then I said Woe is me, for I am ruined, because I am a man of unclean lips and live among a people of unclean lips.” That there’s some authenticity crying out to the Lord.
  • Paul is about as REAL as they get and says several times he will boast about his weaknesses, and definitely never sugarcoats his sufferings.
  • David, when transparently praying for deliverance, even questions God’s whereabouts “LORD, how long will You continually forget me? How long will You hide Your face from me?” Psalm 13:1

The thing about these three, is even in their authenticity, they highlight, praise and bring glory to God.  Psalm 13 ends with David saying, “But I have trusted in Your faithful love; my heart will rejoice in Your deliverance. I will sing to the LORD.”  In Paul’s weakness, we hear Christ’s words, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Isaiah’s lip burning was a time of preparation to go out and be a voice for the Lord (verse 8 in chapter 6, he readily volunteers, “Here am I. Send me.”)

I don’t want to be authentic, transparent or real just to be authentic, transparent or real.  I want my mended brokenness to be used for God’s glory, my restored hope to provide hope to someone else or my weaknesses to turn the spotlight on my Jesus.   There may be pain in the process, but the process is never without purpose.

There’s my take on bein’ real.  I definitely don’t have all the answers and I’d love to hear your thoughts and insight on the subject!

2 thoughts on “Does Our Authenticity Bring God Glory?

Any thoughts??

