Not a Fan…

Sometimes, when you’re listening to someone talk about someone… someone well-known… do you formulate some opinion in your head as they’re speaking?  (Say SOME… ONE MORE TIME!)

Argh!  Well, I have.  In fact, recently, I was listening to someone sharing about hearing a well-known Christian speaker live and in my head I said to myself, “Not a fan.”  Point blank. Straight up. Nope, I’m not a fan of said person.

When did it become about being a fan or not?

It was like I heard God say to me in my Spirit, “Not a fan?  Really?”  (‘Cause He would use ‘really’ like we do in 2010.)

Someone else posts something about another well-known someone…  I think in my head, “I can’t STAND that guy!”  Again, really?

I hate, but appreciate, coming face to face with my own pride and wicked heart.  As a child of God, I have been exhorted to, “in humility, consider others better than” myself (Phil. 2:3).  My opinion of a person, well-known or not, is no reason to treat them unkindly ~ even if I never voiced that opinion.  This is a brother/sister in Christ.  I was one of those people in the Christian community tearing down another, just ‘cuz we don’t see eye to eye on some things. And that ain’t cool!

Ay!  Forgive me, Father, for my pride and wickedness.  Create in me a love for others, from You, and help me to annihilate my critical spirit.   Help my friends and readers to do the same.  In Jesus name, amen.

4 thoughts on “Not a Fan…

  1. Great question! My issues with the “I can’t stand that guy” person is his divisiveness… So, voicing my opinion of him would just be more divisive.
    Pot. Kettle. Black.
    I would guess that none of us ‘Christians’ view every issue/doctrine/preference etc the same – but we can communicate and even have discussions about that, in love. And at the end of the day still honor God by treating our brother/sister in Christ kindly.

    Like

  2. It is good to see I am not alone in my fight. Not Long ago I was forced to come face to face with my pride issue as well. God is doing a consistant work thoughout His body, I rejoice in this and the victory He is sure to give us in our pursuit of holiness.

    Like

Any thoughts??

