School DAYZ!!

Here we goooooooooooo!!!!!  We’re off to another amazing school year (we hope :)!  This year, the Grubbie Homeschool has gone techie…  We’re doing Ohio Virtual Academy (powered by K12).  Each day, the kiddos will log into their account, get their assignments (some of which are completed online and some completed with paper/pencil).  They are each assigned a Teacher, and I’m embracing my new role as the “Learning Coach.”  They will complete assessments after each lesson/unit and are encouraged to work at their own level.

I have no idea what this will all look like… and I’ll let ya’ know what I think about it in a few weeks.   For now, we just started this morning.  I’m feeling a little overwhelmed and confused as to what all is going on… but I expect that is normal for a new family to OHVA.  Also, doesn’t help that the K12 systems are currently down (thus allowing for a few minutes to blog :).  Hmmmm, hope they get that resolved soon…

Some reasons we chose this…

1) Well, for starters, we haven’t felt God leading us to SEND the kiddos TO school.  We’re not die-hard home-schoolers and we pray and decide each year what we’re going to do.  In fact, I’m often hesitant to even tell people we homeschool, because there are so many stereotypes/assumptions made… and we don’t fit most of them :).  We don’t fit with the die-hards because we aren’t of the “homeschool is the only way” philosophy. We don’t fit with the public school clan, well, cuz our kiddos don’t attend public school.

2) I’m hoping online school creates more independence in the kiddos and empowers them to make and achieve educational goals.  They’re responsible for logging in and getting/completing their assignments, with less direction from MOI that they got when we were doing traditional home-school.

3) We are still home… and that means that we can teach Bible, have some flexibility with our scheduling (which fits great for a family in ministry) and make the most of the quality time we have together.   I love that part of homeschooling!!

So there ya’ have it in a nutshell.  Today is Julia’s 1st day of 7th grade, Emma’s 1st Day of 5th grade and Joey’s 1st day of 3rd grade.  Here’s to lots of learning – for all of us!

How about you?  What grades are your kiddos in?  What/How do you do school? Private/Public? Home? Year-Round? Online?  TELL ME EVERYTHING!!!  I want to hear from you :)!!

5 thoughts on “School DAYZ!!

  1. We are 2 years away from Kindergarten, oh my word, cannot believe it! We are choosing right now to send Molly to the public school in our town. It’s ranked number 2 in the state of Wisconsin, and it’s small, 2 things we love about it! Plus, we live 6 houses away! In our area it’s a great outreach to people, and we are excited to see how God uses us when Molly does start school. But I wish we would have the flexibility like you all with being in ministry and all. If for some reason we don’t like the school, or Molly needs something else, we are totally willing to change the plan! Good luck and have a great year!!

    Like

  2. 4th, 6th & 8th grade. You know…I have never felt lead to homeschool, but I can definitely see the benefits of it. We have a great school system and we have tons of Godly teachers in each school. I love going to the school and helping out. I sub at our school all the time. So much ministry needs to be done in those schools.
    I have to tell you my girls best friends are home schooled and there are days when I think…that sounds like a great thing. But God has just never laid it on my heart to go that direction. I think it is amazing what you are doing with your kids. I admire you so much for it. What a super mom you are girl!!!

    Like

  3. Pingback: First Day of School… Take Two! « The Grub Hub

Any thoughts??

