My Dad :)

Meet my dad, Fred.  Since we just passed Father’s Day… I thought I’d spend a few minutes sharing him with you all.  My dad grew up in NW Ohio with his single mom and baby sis, Carolee.  Grandma was an amazing woman, but didn’t always have the best taste in men… and the ones she married weren’t all that great (so I hear).  That left my dad to be the ‘man of the house’ at an early age.  He started working as a kid, and balanced that with school, sports, music and lovin’ on his little sis (by her side even up to the day she died almost 4 years ag0).

All that being said, he didn’t have much in the way of male role models.  Now, Dad wasn’t a perfect father (there is only ONE perfect Father), but considering what he faced as a child – we had a lot to be thankful for.  He showed us his love as we were growing up by working hard, providing for us.  All that hard work paid off, and he was able to take early retirement from GM at age 52 – which was indeed another blessing.  The day he stopped working, we got to see another side of dad – a fun-lovin, goofy dad.  He’s still stubborn as all get-out, but I wouldn’t trade him for the world.  Dad just celebrated his 70th birthday – and he is the youngest 70-year-old I’ve ever met!  He’s still a great dad – and a wonderful Papa!  Thank you, Lord, for my Daddy :).

Any thoughts??

