CW DR Trip Devo Day 5

Day Five – “Cool Peeps” Saturday, May 15, 2010

So, we’ve met some really ‘cool peeps’ this week.  In fact, you may already be sad at the thought that we’re leaving in a few days and you’re going to miss them.  It’s easy to look at some of the full-time missionaries and think, “Wow.  They are really something special.  God is so alive in them.  I could never do what they do…” I’d venture to guess, if you asked any one of them, they’d tell you they are just ordinary people, following God in service to Him.

Sometimes we put halos on those we respect spiritually; pastors, missionaries, friends, or parents.  We may even put them on a pedestal. You may entertain the thoughts, “I could never do what _____ does.”  “I’m not smart enough.”  “I can’t speak well.”  “I’m not out-going.”  “I could never serve in that capacity because of _______ in my past.”

I know someone else who felt like that.  His name was Moses.  God had a plan to rescue the Israelites from the servitude of the Egyptians, and He picked Moses to be the guy to carry out His plan.

Read Exodus 3-4.  What was Moses’ response?

Sometimes I think God picks people to do something they know they can’t do on their own.  Just like God reminded Moses, “Now GO!  I will help you speak and I will teach you what to say.” Ex. 4:12.  God doesn’t call the qualified. He qualifies the called… and He gets the glory.  It’s a beautiful thing.

Maybe you relate more to the last excuse.  “I could never serve God full time because of  ________ in my past.” Allow me to introduce you to another mighty servant of God… Paul.  Oh, yeah, Paul was a great guy, endured great suffering for the cause of Christ, and started a missionary movement that is still alive and active today.  But his name wasn’t always Paul.  His name was Saul and he was a murderer, a slanderer and a persecutor.  Despite all that, what did God call Paul in Acts 9:15-16?

Wow! Such grace does our Father bestow that He would call someone “His chosen instrument” who just days before was leading His greatest opposition.  No matter what you’ve done in your past, God can still use you!  Check out Paul’s testimony in 1 Tim. 1:12-17.  Can someone say HALLELUJAH?

What are some roadblocks or excuses you say as to why you could never do….?  Pray and ask God for His forgiveness and for boldness to follow Him no matter your weaknesses or your past.

One thought on “CW DR Trip Devo Day 5

Any thoughts??

