The Heart (Pt. 3) You Want Me To Love WHO??

Again, these are reposts from my Xanga from 2008, but it’s amazing how much I needed to revisit them two years later. I pray you are blessed…

OK, I’m back! And I’m glad that one’s over (part 2)! That was a tough one to put in cyber-ink. Oh, like this one’s gonna be any easier 🙂.

“Dear friends, let us love one another, because love is from God.” 1 John 4:7

j0431551

“Love your neighbor as yourself.” Lev. 19:18, Matt. 22:37

j0399589

“I give you a new commandment: love one another.” John 13:34

Why do you think God put it in the Bible so many times, “love one another”?? Well, I would venture to guess that maybe He knew it would be a struggle for us. I repeatedly tell our children, “If you can’t love one another here at home, how are you ever going to show Jesus’ love to people in the world???” God is asking us the same question… “If you can’t love one another… how is anyone going to see Me in you???”


Proverbs 17:17 says, “A friend loves at all times.” That’s fine. I’ll find my way out of this one… You ain’t my friend anymore! Ha! Not so fast. Here’s the really tough one: “You have heard that it was said, Love your neighbor, and hate your enemy. But I tell you, love you enemies and pray for those who persecute you.” Matt. 5:44-46 Luke says it another way, “Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.” Luke 6:27-28.


“If anyone says, “I love God,” yet hates his brother, he is a liar…And we have this command from Him: the one who loves God must also love his brother.” 1 John 4:20-21


You want me to love WHO??? Ok, I don’t know if I can classify anyone as an enemy, but I definitely have a few (that I know of, maybe more…ignorance is bliss :-) that don’t particularly like me… and God wants me to pray for them and love them?? Uggghhhh! The definition of enemy in the Strong’s is enemy, foe, one acting hostile. Do you now or have you had someone act hostile towards you, physically or with words???

So, what are we supposed to do??

*Love your enemies.

*Do good to those who hate you. Take some action, good action! You might have to get creative in this one.

*Pray for those who mistreat you. God does amazing works in our hearts when we pray for others!!

*“Show family affection to one another with brotherly love. Outdo one another in showing honor.” Romans 12:10


You may say, there’s no WAY I can love______. You have NO idea how this person has hurt me… Let’s see what God’s Word has to say about this… “With God all things are possible”. Mark 10:27

no-excuses

Keep in mind:

**Loving others lets Christ shine in us! Matt. 5:16

***Loving others shows we belong to Him! 1 John 4:7-8

****Loving others makes us obedient 1 John 2:3-6 (He commands us to love)


We are not responsible for other’s actions or reactions, but we can do our best to love because that’s what He wants us to do.

2 thoughts on “The Heart (Pt. 3) You Want Me To Love WHO??

Any thoughts??

