What Do You Think?

Do you wonder what people think about you? What does God think about me? True value. What determines my worth? Makes me better or makes me worse?


Not my career. Not my house. Not my bank account. Not my debt.

Not how many Facebook friends, Twitter followers I have or how many Blog comments I get or don’t get.

Not how my children turn out or don’t turn out.

Not my husband.

Not my friends. Not my ‘not friends’.

Not my church.

Not my successes. Not my failures.

Not my hairstyle, my dress size or my skin tone.

Jesus Christ alone…

We can be falsely lifted up by praise of ‘man’ and feel awfully good about ourselves for a time, AND we can be inaccurately torn down by criticism of ‘man’ and get pretty discouraged by that for a season. Both can be dangerous places to sit.



“I tell everyone among you not to think of himself more highly than he should think.” Romans 12:3


Same is true about seasons of success and seasons of failure. We can let them define us. Taking credit for our successes or beating ourselves up for our failures means our eyes are on US, and not on GOD… Again, that is a dangerous place to sit.



“But everything that was a gain to me, I have considered to be a loss because of Christ.” Phil. 3:7

Realizing who we are in Christ – that our worth, our value, anything GOOD in us – comes straight from the Father, keeps our focus on Him and shines the spotlight on Him. And, all the times we mess-up and fail, we can know and trust that He still loves us, treasures us and values us. Even in our failures, when the spotlight of our hearts points back to Him, His glory supersedes our shortcomings. All that makes it matter less and less what others think, good or bad, and makes it matter more and more what He thinks.

“But I count my life of no value to myself, so that I may finish my course and the ministry I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of God’s grace.” Acts 20:24

Any thoughts??

