My Soul Doth Magnify

REPOST from December 2007 (Xanga)

Mary. Sweet Mary. Mysterious Mary. Mary, the mother of Christ, the Messiah. Potentially the most misunderstood woman in history. Many movies, books, stories depict Mary, Jesus’ birthmother in a variety of ways, but truly none of us really know her. Luke 2:19 says (and yes, I busted out the ‘ol King James for this one… love the wording), “But Mary kept all these things, and pondered them in her heart.”

What can we possibly know about Mary? How could we even relate? She kept them in her heart. We don’t know all she felt. We couldn’t possibly comprehend the depths of her fear and anxiety of the responsibility of carrying and then raising the awaited Messiah (let alone the trepidation of possible persecution for what would be perceived as a sin). We can’t fathom her immense joy of the miracle within her, knowing she had “known” no man, and yet there was a baby growing inside her; a physical, living MIRACLE from the Living God!

I think about us women. We are so quick to hop on the phone (computer, cell phone txt), to share our worries, our joys, our sorrows, stresses, praises… That in and of itself isn’t necessarily a bad thing. The Bible tells us to “bear one another’s burdens,” to “rejoice with them that do rejoice, and weep with them that weep.” I have a couple of girlies that bear my burdens in prayer, rejoice with me, weep with me (and even beat me over the head with a broom when I need it… you know who you are). I am so blessed to have, even if just a few, friends like that, yet my 1st call shouldn’t be to my friends, or even to my best friend, my hubby… My #1 speed-dial should be my Lord, my Jesus! (Ok, He may have to be #2, because #1 is already pre-programmed by Verizon as my voicemail… and there are times, that I would love to get a clear ANSWER from God on my voicemail… yet He hasn’t chosen to communicate to me via that mode of communication as of yet). He is the only one who will truly understand!

Yes, when you are pregnant, and you share pregnancy stories with the girlies, there’s some relating, but still, YOU are soooooo different than anyone else, that no one truly completely gets you. Or, as parents, and we share different parenting struggles; can we relate? Yes, but never completely. Every circumstance and family dynamic is completely unique. What about when something sooooo awesome happens, to the point that you jump up and down for JOY in your living room, but when you share it, it’s like people don’t get it. They may get a little, but it’s YOUR experience. I can’t say I blame Mary for “treasuring up all these things in her heart and meditating on them.” Sometimes when we share with another person, and the reaction, while enthusiastic, isn’t quite what yours is (because it’s YOUR experience,) it brings the excitement down just a notch. Mary was wise to treasure them up with her Lord. Maybe, sometimes things are just for you and Him. He understands every burden, He bore them. He is elated with every blessing, He provided it! Run first to the Father. Treasure some things in your heart that are just between you and Him. Praise Him in your SOUL. My soul doth magnify the LORD, and my spirit hath rejoiced in God my Savior!”

Any thoughts??

