Overwhelmed

Someone asked me today, “Kendra, do you ever get overwhelmed?”

Um. Yes.

He was asking a simple question, but truly there’s a loaded answer…

Yes – I get overwhelmed with:

*Responsibilities at Home – “watching over the activities of the household” (Prov. 31:27), dealing with five unique personalities and working to “live at peace with everyone” (Romans 12:18), keeping everyone clothed, fed, entertained, educated and hopefully trained “in the way they should go” (Prov. 22:6), loving, submitting and encouraging my hubby… Yeah. All that gets overwhelming.

*Ministry – Yeah. bearing the burdens of many people – overwhelmed with how much heartache there is in one body and wanting to meet every need, trying to stay positive among negative people, the fact you’re never really ‘off the clock’, frequently facing criticism, feeling under-qualified and inadequate, trying to keep people encouraged and growing in their faith, wanting to be the hands and feet of Jesus to those He’s called us to serve, never really getting enough help for the above said tasks, there’s always more “to-do” than time on the clock… A recent USA-Today Article (discussing depression/suicide among pastors) describes being a pastor “a high-profile, high-stress job with nearly impossible expectations for success.” Yeah. All that gets overwhelming.

*Personally – wanting to live a life pleasing to the Lord, trying to be a godly, faith-filled example to my family and others, knowing how much I fall short that, fears of failure, expectations I place on myself, wanting to be healthy physically and spiritually, hoping to fulfill my purpose in life and follow His calling, sitting still enough to hear His voice so I can clearly hear His leading and obey it, desiring to be a good wife, mother, friend, daughter, sister etc. Yeah. All that gets overwhelming.

BUT – more than being overwhelmed with my inadequacies, struggles, burdens and responsibilities, I am overwhelmed with the promises of God!


*He promises to set me FREE – 2 Cor. 3:17

*He promises to be WITH ME – Deut. 31:6

*He promises to MEET MY EVERY NEED – Phil. 4:19

*He promises to be MY STRENGTH – Psalm 28:7

*He promises to ENABLE ME in whatever He calls me to – Ex. 4:11-12

*He promises me that I’m not the same person I was – 2 Cor. 5:17 – HE HAS MADE ME NEW!

*He promises me that He CARES FOR ME – 1 Pet. 5:7

*He promises to PROTECT ME – Psalm 32:7

*He promises to HEAR MY PRAYERS – Psalm 6:9

*He promises to FORGIVE MY SIN – 1 John 1:9

*He promises to LOVE ME – 1 John 4:19

*He promises to LEAD ME – Psalm 23:3

*He promises to SATISIFY ME – Isaiah 58:11

*He promises to DELIVER ME – Psalm 144:2

*He promises to help ME LOVE OTHERS – 1 John 4



Yeah. I’m overwhelmed! I’m overwhelmed with His goodness. I’m overwhelmed with His grace. I’m overwhelmed with His love.

I am overwhelmed with joy in the Lord my God! For he has dressed me with the clothing of salvation and draped me in a robe of righteousness. I am like a bridegroom in his wedding suit or a bride with her jewels. Isaiah 61:10

Any thoughts??

