What if??? (The Other Foolish Son)

What if we did everything right?

What if I…

read my Bible for 10 hours every day
ate only healthy meals and snacks… ever
exercised 5x’s a week
kept my house impeccably clean
led my children in their devotion time every day
only spoke “sweet nothings” into my hubby’s ear
gave all my money to the poor…

Meet the 2nd son. He did everything right, but what problem crept up with him??? Pride. Jealousy. Self-Righteousness. Just like the Pharisee who said in Luke 18, “God I thank you that I’m not like the other people, – greedy, unrighteous, adulterers, or even like this tax collector. I fast twice a week. I give a tenth of everything I get…

What if I did everything right? Then I’d be prideful and self-righteous. When that takes over, we judge other people, we think well, at least I don’t do that… I don’t know about you, but that also sounds foolish… and if we stay in foolish living, as we learned yesterday, we get stinky.

Have you ever been a little smug in your own righteousness? I know I have.

Part 3 tomorrow

Any thoughts??

