Bloggin’ The LOG!


God is taking me through a heart restructure that although uncomfortable, stretching even frustrating, I wouldn’t trade His work in my life for anything. To quote Matt Redman, “I don’t want to go through the motions”. I want His “all consuming passion inside of me!” Even if it means taking a hard look at my own heart, repenting of what I see in there and turning to towards and looking to God for victory in that area. I don’t want to stay the same, I want to be more like Jesus every day!

Back in May, while we were at NAMB, the ladies met separately for a part of the time. During our session, we did a spiritual gift inventory as well as a personality analysis. The purpose was to further discover how God has wired us, through the personality He has given each of us as well as the Spiritual Gifts given at salvation, so that we may see how He might want to use someone wired like that. It was an eye opener to begin to understand why I am the way I am, and how God can use that for His glory. It was also an opportunity to recognize and be aware of what negative tendencies go along with particular gifts and personalities.

With each spiritual gift, as well as each personality type,there are pitfalls to look out for. For example, one of my spiritual gifts is discernment/prophecy. Admittedly, this has not been my favorite gift to have because sometime I just don’t want to see things for how they are. Ignorance would be total bliss. However, God has given me this gift and I need to embrace it and use it for His glory. I can count several times where this gift of discernment has been helpful, vital even, in making some of the decisions we’ve been faced with in the past. Along with the benefits of this gift, are some things to watch out for. The antithesis if the gift of discernment is a spirit of criticism and judgmentalism. OUCH! God has recently made me very sensitive to His Spirit when I have been critical or judgmental. (And I still have a LONG way to go!) Through this awareness, He is showing me how to love despite my feelings, and how to turn my useless, destructive criticism into powerful, restorative PRAYER.

Jesus “did not come to judge the world, but to save the world.” John 12:47

Not only have I been guilty of criticism and judging in my spirit, I have been guilty of blogging or twittering other peoples’ specks (Matt. 7:3) when I should be BLOGGIN’ The LOG in my own eye!!

Another way God has been driving this home is through THIS BOOK by F. Frangipane. As I close, let me share some quotes that slammed me down, only to build me back up. Thank ya’ Jesus that You’re not finished with me yet!

“Those who seek first for God’s kingdome are love-motivated people who are given to prayer. When they see a need, instead of judging, they intercede.”

“God does not call us to judge one another, but to pray for one another.”

I want to “be a source of life and prayer wherever I (am) serving God… and to become an intercessor whose motive was redemption.”

“Our call is to enter the place of intercession and stand there until the body of Christ is built up in that area.”

“People will have to account for ever careless word they speak.” Matt. 12:36

“We must use our words to support, love and protect each other.”

“Our criticisms of one another are the voice of Satan accusing the saints before God.” OUCH!

O God, give us “tongues that have been purified by the fire of God from the altar, tongues that are cleansed of faultfinding and criticisms.” Turn us to powerful prayer in place of destructive criticism. Make us instruments of love and restoration. Help us to be problem solvers, not problem causers. Let us create unity, not division. In Jesus’ Name! AMEN!
Any thoughts??

