The Next Five

I have lost 20 pounds since December. I’m ecstatic that I fit into a closet full of clothes that have been waiting for me. I am stoked that I can run/walk several miles, do some strength training, get a good workout in and not have it kill me. I could sit here and be happy that I’ve lost the 20 – and I am! While I’m thrilled that I have lost 20 pounds, it’s time to HUNKER down and get to the NEXT FIVE. I could be satisfied and rest in the accomplishment thus far– or I can press on, hunker down and attack the next five pounds that need to come off (I have about 30 to go).

The same can be said of the ministry God has called us to. God has blessed tremendously over the past year, above what we could ask or think, and we have put feet to our faith where He is working. We have seen dozens come to Christ and dozens more grow in their walk with Him. We see God growing His church and that church reaching out step by step making an impact on this community! We rejoice in all the Lord has done!! However, do we just stop, and rest in what has been accomplished in Jesus’ name, or do we press on, hunker down and go after the NEXT FIVE?!? I believe there are five more people who need to hear about Christ for the 1st time. There are five more people who need to hear about the HOPE they can have in Him. There are five more that have needs that we, the body of Christ, can help with. There are five more that deserve the joy that a simple smile can bring them. I’m amazed by all that God has done – but I’m ready to go after the next five.

Whether it’s losing 5 more pounds or reaching 5 more for Jesus, going to the next level takes work. Going to the next level takes commitment. Going to the next level takes sacrifice.

I’m ready baby! By faith, let’s press on and get the ‘NEXT FIVE’ for Jesus! (and them some!)

“But one thing I do: forgetting what is behind and reaching forward to what is ahead, I pursue as my goal the prize promised by God’s heavenly call in Christ Jesus. “
Phil. 3:13-14
Any thoughts??

