Confession vs. Repentance

Like I said, I’ve journeyed on to Exodus in my daily Bible reading and it’s been interesting watching Moses’ progression from telling God, “NO!” and making excuses to beginning to see God, discover who He is (I AM), obey Him and see His purpose fulfilled through him (“that they may know there is NO ONE like the LORD our God” Ex. 8:10). It’s also been interesting to watch Pharaoh’s progression from telling God (through Moses), “NO! I will never let them (Israelites) go!”, watching the magicians imitate ‘miracles’ with their occult practices, to also being face to face with the fact that God let him live “for this purpose: to show you My power and to make My name known in all the earth” Ex. 9:16 Then, starting in vs. 27, Pharaoh confesses that he has sinned. He did the A of the ABCs of salvation (admitted he had sinned). He even did B (believed in God’s righteousness – remember, no Jesus yet) and in some ABCs did C (confessed). Here’s the problem… HE NEVER REPENTED! Maybe the ABC’s of salvation should actually be ABCR. Not quite as catchy, but the R is vitally important.

Like Pharaoh, I can confess my sins all day long – but if I never repent and TURN from them, I’m just going in circles!! I confessed my sins for years, growing up, going to church… but didn’t REPENT and make Jesus LORD of my life until May of 1997. There’s a HUGE difference! Even now, after being a Christian for 13 years, I still sin (SHOCKER!!) and if I don’t repent and turn from my sin… I’m no better off than before. Pharaoh admitted after the 7th plague (hail) that he had sinned. After the 8th plague (locusts) he urgently sought forgiveness for his sin. See, he wanted a way out of a messy situation. He was confessing his sins for his own good…


Have you or I ever done that? Have you (or I) ever been so disgusted with a situation, a mess that we’ve made, as a result of our own sinfulness that we confess it, hope to get forgiven… only to RETURN to it?? That’s not repentance!!! We want God to clean up our messes, because the mess stinks… but we’re not willing (at times) to take that extra step and make that extra commitment to REPENT and TURN from the sin!

I can say, “God I’m sorry I’m sleeping with my boyfriend. I know that I shouldn’t be doing that. Please forgive me.” Only to turn around and go right back at it when the temptation was ‘too much’ (forgetting 1 Cor. 10:13.)


Or say “God, I’m sorry for living beyond my means!” only to go further into debt because although I confessed the sin, didn’t turn from it.

Or “God, I’m sorry for my pitiful prayer life” never making any changes in my life to incorporate more time with the Father.

“Father forgive me for gossiping…”

“Lord, I confess my greed, my anger, profanity…”

Confession alone can – get something off you chest

– make you feel better about yourself

– think you’re doing something to make things better around you (thinking you have to ‘get right with God so bad things won’t happen or continue to happen, or to manipulate a situation to get better)

Repentance – -SETS YOU FREE!

-Brings forgiveness, salvation AND restoration! 2 Corinthians 7:10 “For godly grief produces a repentance not to be regretted and leading to salvation”

-Refreshes!! Acts 3:19 – “Repent and turn back, that your sins may be wiped out so that seasons of refreshing may come from the presence of the LORD.”

– brings GLORY to His NAME! Luke 24:46-47 says that, “Messiah would suffer and rise from the dead the third day, and repentance for forgiveness of sins would be proclaimed in His name to all the nations…

So what? Are we just going to sin, confess – sin, confess – sin, confess?? Shall we continue in sin so that grace may abound?? ABSOLUTELY NOT!

Yes, Jesus is right HERE waiting for us to confess. He is quick to forgive… and He is also faithful to walk us through the commitment of repentance should we truly want to turn away from our sin and turn to HIM.

2 Peter 3:9 – The Lord does not delay His promise, as some understand delay, but is patient with you, not wanting any to perish, but all to come to repentance.”

My friends, come (back) to Jesus:

*Admit you are a sinner

*Believe Jesus died for you

*Confess your sins and that He is LORD

And *Repent!!!

Any thoughts??

