Like Father/Like Son

Still hanging out in Genesis, and I couldn’t help but think when reading Ch. 26:7-11 – Like Father/Like Son. The Lord had just appeared to Isaac, with his own set of “I WILLS,” the same ones promised to his father Abraham. But, when Abimelech’s men asked about his wife, Rebekah, he just did what his father Abraham did years ago. He lied and said that Rebekah was his sister and not his wife. Instead of believing the promises in God’s “I WILLS”, he chose his own plan and almost made a huge mess out of things.



Have you ever seen your kids start some habit, use some expression or develop some characteristics that you clearly recognize… because it’s YOUR habit, expression or characteristic??? It’s going to happen! In my girls, I see one with a bubbly, extroverted personality (she gets honestly from both Mom and Dad) and I see another that is detail-oriented, organized – even perfectionist at times…

The reality check is when you hear something out of your child’s mouth, sarcasm, insults, negativity, borderline foul language… and you realize, “Uh! THEY GOT THAT FROM ME!” Yup, the truth of the matter is that we are passing down the good as well as the bad.



It goes both ways. Did you say before you were a parent that you would never do (fill in the blank) what your mother did… and years down the road, you say something and realize, “That was my mother!”? Yuppers, she passed that baby on to you.



I have wanted to be “Mommy” as long as I can remember and I LOVE being “Mommy.” Oh yeah, it’s hard work, I do need a break at times (we all do :p), but it is my dream job… my calling… my purpose. This week, with another end of the traditional school year around us, I was blazed with the fact that in only ELEVEN years, my youngest, my baby will graduate high school. Eleven years ago, eleven years seemed like a long time… but having recently celebrated a 15th wedding anniversary, and having a child about to turn 11 in September is a stark reminder of HOW FAST ELEVEN YEARS WILL FLY BY!

Isaac and Abraham’s example has struck a chord to be mindful of what we are passing down to our children. They see and mimic (whether consciously or sub-consciously) what they see and hear at home. Not only do we need to be diligent about planting seeds of righteousness in our children’s lives, but more importantly, we need to be planting seeds of righteousness in our own lives – and be a living example.



Do they see evidence of a vibrant relationship with Christ in you? Do they see you put Him 1st in your day? Do they see humility and repentance when you sin (this is HUGE, we sin, there’s no question of that, the question is what do we do after we sin)? Do they see you serving the Lord with gladness? Do they see strong faith or extreme anxiety? Do they see consistency or hypocrisy? Do they see you overextended and stressed, or balanced and walking in JOY? How do you handle stress? How do you handle conflict? How do you handle gossip?

They see all of this!

O Lord, create in me a clean heart, let me walk in the joy of my salvation and let your light shine through me that they (starting with my kiddos) may see Your good in me and You will be glorified!



“I have no greater joy than this; to hear that my children are walking in the truth.” 3 John 4

“Be imitators of me, as I also am of Christ.” I Cor. 11:1



“Be doers of the word and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves” (but not your kiddos). James 1:22



Any thoughts??

