Mission Statement Part 3 – HOW?

As I conclude our mission statement – mine and Kevin’s – let’s continue to look at Isaiah 58. We’ve seen WHO we’re called to serve, WHAT we’re called to do, today I’ll show you what God has to say about HOW this can happen.

In the Bible there are many if/then statements. Isaiah 58 has a couple of those:

1) If you choose (verse 6-7) Vs. 6 – To break the chains of wickedness

– To untie the ropes of the yoke

– To set the oppressed free

Vs. 7- To share your bread with the hungry

-To bring the poor and homeless into your house

-To clothe the naked

* – Not to ignore your own flesh and blood

Vs. 10 – Satisfy the afflicted one

THEN

Vs. 8 – Your light will appear like the dawn,

Your recovery will come quickly

The Lord’s glory will be your rear guard.

Vs. 9 – When you call, the LORD will answer;

– When you cry out, He will say: Here I am.

2) IF –

Vs. 9 – get rid of the yoke from those around you, the finger-pointing and malicious speaking

3) IF –

Vs. 10 – You offer yourself to the hungry, and satisfy the afflicted one,

THEN:

Vs. 10 – your light will shine in the darkness and your night will be like noonday.

Vs. 11 – The LORD will always lead you,

Satisfy you in a parched land,

Strengthen your bones.

You will be like a watered garden and like a spring whose waters never run dry.

I read these verses and am encouraged that if I do what He’s called me to do, the LORD has got my back (vs. 8). I don’t have to worry about what I am supposed to do next – because He “will always lead me.” I don’t have have to worry about what people have to say about it (vs. 9), just DO what He’s called me to do. I don’t have to worry about HOW we will do it or HOW we will be able to do it because He will always “satisfy” me and “strengthen” me. If He’s called you to it, He will see you through it!!

So there you have it – this is WHO the LORD has called us to serve, WHAT He has called us to do and HOW we are to do it. Sounds like a plan 🙂!

Any thoughts??

