Spiritual Stretch Marks

My Twitter/Facebook Status this evening: “Kendra is getting stretch marks from God’s spiritual growth plan…”


Kevin’s Twitter/Facebook Status this evening: “Kevin Need Big time prayers right now over the next couple hours!!!!!!!”


This circumstances of the past month, escalating this past week with a climatic peak this evening (uh, last night) truly are irrelevant… but how God is moving and working in and around me is not. This evening was a raw test of faith, endurance and listening closely to God for each baby step necessary.

Here’s some things that came to mind…

1) The song, “I’m in over my head, right where I want to be…” I could’ve been spending this night with a busload of teenagers on my way home from a rockin’ concert. I enjoy that. I am comfortable with that. For a season was called to that. But it’s not about me. This is not what God has for us now, and yes, what we have are dealing with is extreme, it’s intense… feels nearly impossible, but I’m “right where I want to be”. I surrendered comfort. I surrendered things within my control. I have surrendered myself and I have great peace amidst the discomfort.

2) The quote, “If He has brought you to it, He will bring you through it.” Hmmmmm, have heard and applied this to many-a-scenario personally… but never applied it to a situation that God has brought us to in order to minister “to it” and “through it”. This is new.

3) The Facebook Status that came to Kevin’s phone… I have NO idea who this person is… but I needed to hear that. Greg Atkinson If you can’t stand in-front of the poor, the homeless, the imprisoned, the least of these, any country, anywhere, anytime and preach – it’s not the Gospel.

4) BTW – we read that RIGHT AFTER an official person told us to let it go, it’s hopeless, forget about it… Excuse me, but with my God, things are not HOPELESS. NOTHING is impossible with God. AND, I’m pretty sure Jesus said, “For I was hungry

and you gave Me something to eat;

I was thirsty

and you gave Me something to drink;

I was a stranger and you took Me in;

36 I was naked and you clothed Me;

I was sick and you took care of Me;

I was in prison and you visited Me.’

37 “Then the righteous will answer Him, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You something to drink? 38 When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or without clothes and clothe You? 39 When did we see You sick, or in prison, and visit You?’

40 “And the King will answer them, ‘I assure you: Whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of Mine, you did for Me.’

I’m just sayin’… those verses were brought to mind and I’m pretty sure Jesus isn’t telling me to “let it go,’ or that it is “hopeless” or to “forget about it.” I’m also pretty sure He never told me it was going to be easy and wasn’t going to require sacrifice. Surely He didn’t say only do it if it is convenient, or if it doesn’t work out, drop it.

Amazingly enough (yet another God thing…) I heard a heart piercing message on “Sacrifice vs. Selfishness” last week. I’m pretty sure that the timing of that message wasn’t a mistake. Let me just share some notes I took from Beth Moore’s lesson from Daniel Chapter 11.

-Satan tells us, “Don’t do anything that costs you much.”

-‘If it does not cost us something, it will not mean as much.”

-“Satan is enticing us to be takers and not givers.”

-“We’re gonna be selfish unless we deliberately purpose not to.’

-“If we miss the sacrificial life, we will miss our calling.”

-“We’ve been called to be drink offerings.”

-“You’ll find yourself when you lose yourself.”

And that was in the 1st FIVE minutes of the lesson…

5) Some Scriptures He brought to mind throughout the evening:

**“God has not given me a spirit of fear…”

**“For our battle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the world powers of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavens. 13 This is why you must take up the full armor of God, so that you may be able to resist in the evil day, and having prepared everything, to take your stand. 14 Stand, therefore,

with truth like a belt around your waist,

righteousness like armor on your chest,

15 and your feet sandaled with readiness for the gospel of peace.

16 In every situation take the shield of faith,

and with it you will be able to extinguish

the flaming arrows of the evil one.

17 Take the helmet of salvation,

and the sword of the Spirit, which is God’s word.

18 With every prayer and request, pray at all times in the Spirit, and stay alert in this, with all perseverance and intercession for all the saints.

No, I have no idea what’s next. It’s complicated (understatement of the year). I do know that He’s called us to obey. He will lead us through each step. He is faithful to lead us in the moment, the day and the journey. It’s my job to take up my “shield of faith”, “stay alert” and to persevere and intercede. It’s definitely a test of “will we” or “won’t we?” I just have to hear, obey and act at the time He tells me. He was in every moment this evening. I can trust Him with tomorrow. I will not back down. I will not lose heart. I will run with endurance. I will keep my eyes on Jesus.

I am now going to bed. Sorry this was so long… guess I had to make up for a slow blog month. Peace.

Any thoughts??

