satan’s little helpers


So, we have started seeing little “traces” of Ratatouille’s cousin in the basement about a week ago or so. Didn’t think much of it, in fact, just thought to myself, “I have to remember next time I go to Wal-Mart to get some traps.” Then, last Tuesday morning, I was sitting in my green chair having my devotions in the quiet of my house, no one else awake yet, just the pages of my Bible rustling as I did my Bible Study until suddenly, I heard a little rustling… IN THE GREEN CHAIR I WAS SITTING ON! I thought, “No, it can’t be!” so I sat still for a moment and sure enough the rustling started again! I jumped out of the green chair, up the stairs to wake my superhero hubby to take care of this rustling!! Final straw, that morning (amidst the busy-ness of trying to leave the house for 3 days) we added a trip to Wal-Mart to get some traps so we could set them and hopefully catch our little critter before we returned Thursday.

Thursday night, we get home, sure enough we have caught TWO! (One even behind my GREEN CHAIR!) Horray! However, there were 3 traps with no peanut butter and no mice :-(. Reset traps. Caught another on Friday in the garage. Now, we’re getting somewhere! Again, we have several traps with no peanut butter and no mice… sneaky little boogers.

So this morning, I’m once again sitting in my green chair, sipping my mornin’ Joe and ready to settle into some quiet time with my Jesus when I hear a rustling coming from the piano area (about 3 feet from the green chair). I thought to myself, “I am NOT letting these little critters ruin my quiet time once again. I know there’s a mouse under or in my piano, but it’s not going to hurt me and it’s NOT going to take away from my time with the Lord…” WRONG! It was all cool, until mouse #2 ran in from under the basement door and joined mouse #1 under the piano! I silent shrieked, ran to get superhero hubby (who did NOT want to be a superhero yet).

So, we have reset the traps… AND we are borrowing our neighbor’s cat! Yes, we are desperate! (BTW, the cat’s name is Brutus… and considering that we are MICHIGAN fans, we must truly be desperate to be calling Brutus to our rescue!) I can deal with mice in the garage, even in the basement… but don’t come stompin’ in on my living space, especially the only spot that I can ever “be still”… and really, ewwwwwwwwww! Honestly, I’m surprised that it’s taken 3 years to have our first mice visits, as our neighborhood is surrounded by fields, but here we are.

Well, enough about our mice saga. I leave you with this inspiring quote:

The early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.

or the peanut butter 🙂 Bah-ha-ha-ha-ha

Any thoughts??

