Focusing on What Unites

One of our core values at LifePoint is “Focusing on What Unites, Not Divides.” This core value was included for several reasons. One is that we have people from many different backgrounds that come to LP (Lutheran, Methodist, Assemblies of God, Baptist, Catholic, Presbyterian, NOTHING). While LP is affiliated with a “demonination” we, as a church family are focusing on what unites us (Jesus is the only Way, the Truth and the Life; Whoever calls on the name of the Lord will be saved, By grace you are saved through faith…) and not what divides us (for example, preferences…). Personally, I was raised Lutheran, accepted Christ in an Assembly of God church and was baptized and discipled in an Independent Baptist church (talk about diversity!) Then we served in a non-denominational ministry and now we are church planting under the SBC. Yeah, I don’t call myself a ______. I am a C. I am a C-H. I am a C-H-R-I-S-T-I-A-N. I don’t care what church you come from, if you have repented of your sins and asked Christ to be your Savior, you too are a Christian!! We also have that core value in that we realize as a core group, we are not going to agree on everything… but we need to stay focused on what unites us, not divides us.

I think of us as Americans. In politics, especially in the past few months, we have been Democrats or Republicans. I believe in this election, we (Americans) have been more divided than ever. No, one man is not going to bridge this great divide. I don’t see an end in sight in that the views of the left are so far from the views of the right (and vice versa). However, we can, as Americans focus on what unites us and not what divides. Last night, Emma prayed (unprompted) for President Obama, that he would get saved (I never said he was saved or he wasn’t saved… this was HER prayer) and that he would be a good president. I was so proud of her. My 8 year old daughter is an example of what we should be doing now, praying. Join us in praying for President-elect Obama and our country, the United States of America.

Any thoughts??

