Pursuit of Happiness

No, this is not a review of the movie (though I would recommend that movie). As Americans, we have been given certain unalienable rights according to the Declaration of Independence… Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. Now, if you read that closely, you may realize like I did that that doesn’t guarantee happiness as an American, just that you’ll be free to pursue it.

There is another type of pursuit, that of pursuing God. God IS and shows Himself so that “you may know there is no one like the Lord our God” (Ex. 8:10) and “so that you would know that the LORD is God.” (Deut. 4:35).

Are you not sure that God exists?? Are you a Christian but it’s been a long time since you’ve been convinced He’s even there or even cares? Test Him. He is waiting for the challenge to be found of you. Here’s some of what He has to say about pursuing Him:

1 Chronicles 28:9 “If you seek Him, He will be found by you.”

Matthew 7:7 “Keep asking, and it will be given to you. Keep searching and you will find. Keep knocking, and the door will be opened to you.”

Romans 12:12 “Be persistent in prayer.”

Isaiah 58:2 (they) “Seek me day after day.”

Pursue Him, bug Him like crazy! Keep on asking like a child asking for candy before dinner! If you truly want to find God, or want to hear from Him again, take the time and effort seek Him day after day. Be persistent in prayer. If you are serious about wanting to see Him, hear from Him or be convinced that He even exists, do your part. DISCLAIMER: There is no timeline to this, but I believe Matthew 7:7 is a guarantee that if you keep searching, you will find (Him).

Romans 1:20 tells us that, “From the creation of the world, His invisible attributes, that is, his eternal power and diving nature, have been clearly seen, being understood through what He has made. As a result, people are without excuse.” He is real, people. He is there. He is.

Christians, seek Him in your relationships, your finances, your career/job, your family. When it comes to relationships seeking God 1st (Matt. 6:33) is the best bet, whether your decision is choosing a spouse, staying with a spouse or just relationships in general. One sure fire way to know that you’re NOT seeking God 1st in your relationship is if you are more in love with your hubby/boyfriend that you are Jesus… Put Him 1st and all the rest will fall into place. What about your finances? Boy, we have had quite the ride this year when it comes to our finances… but we did NOT stop seeking Him 1st and putting Him 1st. We gave to Him at church and other times He has led us, even when we weren’t sure how we were going to eat that week. But, we did that knowing that if He was leading us to give, He would provide (and He did… you’ve read the posts J). Career? Job? Ministry? Seek Him, follow Him. It’s a sure guarantee.

I will close with the words of Psalm 63.

God, you are my God;

I eagerly seek You. I thirst for You;

My body faints for You in a land that is dry, desolate, and without water.

So I gaze on You in the sanctuary to see Your strength and Your glory.

My lips will glorify You because Your faithful love is better than life.

So I will praise You as long as I live; at your name, I will lift up my hands.

You satisfy me as with rich food; my mouth will praise You with joyful lips.

When, on my bed, I think of You, I meditate on You during the night watches

Because You are my help; I will rejoice in the shadow of Your wings.

I follow close to You; Your right hand holds on to me.

Any thoughts??

