Treading Water

Thanks for the title Laura!!

Do you ever feel like you’re just treading water??? Life is spinning by so fast that you’re lucky to keep your head above water. Pressures mounting, it’s all you can do to keep kicking under water… just support your body weight. Head above water. I used to swim a lot when we lived in the D.R. That was my exercise of choice since that was when the heel spurs/feet pain began, and walking was out of the question. Sometimes I would swim laps in the SCORE pool, other times I would just stay in the deep end and tread water for 20 minutes or so. Not going anywhere, just try to keep my head above water and get a little exercise.

What is weighing you down??

• Busy-ness? Too much to do, too little time?
• Emotional Stress??? When it rains it pours… how much more can I handle??
• Work – CRAZY?? Co-workers?? Boss issues?? Demands??
• Loss of a loved one?
• Serious Illness (yours or someone close to you)??
• Financial Stress??? Too much month for the money??
• Kiddos?? Will this whining ever stop?? Teething toddlers??
• Hubby?? Why is there this RIFT??
• Temptations??
• Moving??
• New addition to the family??
• Discerning God’s will??
• …
• …

And on and on. You fill in the bullet. In the midst of various struggles, I find the greatest thing weighing me down right now is time, or lack thereof. I did the Frazzled Female Bible studies a couple of years ago and God used them to show me very practical things that I can do in my life to SLOW DOWN, RE-EVALUATE and RE-PRIORITIZE. Not the most in-depth Bible Study I have ever done, but one of the most practical and applicable studies that opened my eyes to focus on what He wants me to do (daily) and greatly challenged me in the area of spiritual discipline. I HIGHLY recommend it. Yet, as Cindi Wood pointed out, there will be seasons in your life where some things are just out of control, whether it be because any number of life situations (illness, demands at work, having a baby…). I feel like this is one of those seasons… I look and pray about my life and there is nothing that I can eliminate (unless you count sleep, and that is NOT an option!) Love helping my hubby. Love teaching my kids. Love church planting. Love fellowship. Like work. Like kids’ activities. So, tread I will, throughout my days. It is so easy at times to get frustrated, feel overwhelmed and want to just chuck it all and stay in bed.

As practical as Frazzled Female was as a Bible Study, so is a new song from Third Day. It’s called Slow Down! Listen to an excerpt here:

It’s so important to seek God to know if you’re heading in the right direction, if you need to change “the way I’m going” or just slow down. Or simply just to cry out, “Help me God!” If you’re struggling with this like I am, seriously, check out Cindi Wood’s study!! I think I’m going to re-read it!!

In the meantime, I cling to the hope that as Third Day sings in another song “There’s a light at the end of this tunnel.” It won’t be like this forever. Things will get better. What is it that’s weighing you down? Give it to God. Trust Him to work things out. Let Him renew you today. He will give you the energy and ability to soar, run and walk without passing out from the pressures.

Those who trust in the LORD
Will renew their strength;
They will soar on wings like eagles;
They will run and not grow weary;
They will walk and not faint!
Isaiah 40:31

Any thoughts??

