Mission Trip (Follow Up Post)

About the mission trip! Thanks for tagging along to my wig-out party Saturday. I really appreciate the prayers. I spent some time myself talking things out with God and am continuing to do so. Here’s what He told me:

To CAST ALL MY CARES UPON HIM, because HE CARES FOR ME! 1 Pet. 5:7

Here was the kicker… Psalm 20. Let me highlight some verses that sent healing daggers of truth and compassion into the soul of my being!

  • Vs. 2 May He send you help from the sanctuary and sustain you From Zion. He WILL sustain me!
  • Vs. 4 May He give you what your heart desires and fulfill your whole purpose. It IS His will for me to go on this trip and part of my purpose in life, to tell others about His precious gift of salvation and to encourage others in the Lord.
  • Vs. 5 Let us shout for joy at your victory and lift the banner in the name of our God. May the LORD fulfill all your requests. Baby, I’m gonna lift that Banner up in the D.R. He is going to fulfill all the requests, worries that I have, work out all the details. He’s so kewl like that.
  • Vs. 7-8 Some take pride in a chariot, and others in horses, but we take pride in the name of the Lord our God. They collapse and fall, but we rise and stand firm. He is my strong tower, my help, my deliverer. I will stand firm in Him.

OK, now for some more reasons that I am getting excited and know in my heart that God is IN this mission trip…

-This will be the 1st mission trip for many of the guys (and gal, one other than myself). Anyone who’s ever been on a mission trip knows that they have a habit of changing lives. I anticipate this will be no different.
-Someone wants to be baptized while we are there. I already have goose bumps that this is going to be an incredibly powerful and tender moment for all of us witnessing it, and especially for the one being baptized in the warm, salty, beautiful Caribbean Sea.
-There is at least one unsaved guy going on our team. I expect that may not be the case on the way home. Pray, pray, pray!
-We spent some time talking tonight with someone who’s never been to the D.R. I wanted to tell him every little thing. “Oh, you’re gonna love the orphanage and fall in love with those little girls! Wait ‘til you try this food! Man, the countryside is beautiful and the people, you won’t want to leave!” I’m realizing part of my problem about getting psyched up about this trip is that I LOVE this country so much. It will be so hard to leave after 8 days! I think I’m trying to protect my heart. Don’t feel so it won’t hurt. God wants me to feel. He wants me to have passion. He has us going back for a purpose, not to make me realize all we’re missing not being there, but to renew my passion for His work all around the world, to serve Him with that passion where He has me for today. I am blessed and honored to have this privilege to return to the foreign mission field, even if only for 8 days, and to be on mission with Him every day of my life.

Any thoughts??

