D.R. Mission Trip

The mission trip is two weeks away. I left it completely up to God if I was going or not. I really didn’t pursue raising support for a couple of reasons. 1) We have been occupied with the church launch and 2) I really didn’t feel like asking people for money… For 3 years we were missionaries and now for the past 8 months church-planters and it feels like all we do is ask for money. So, when it came to this mission trip I sent an email to some family and friends, and gave a few letters to others I know. The support didn’t come in. For weeks I sat with my $100 deposit and one $25 donation. However, the Lord has graciously and creatively provided for me to go on the trip and my trip is now 100% paid. Praise God!

Now, all I have to do is get excited about it!!! This is the country we served in for two years!!! I am excited, but with leaving two weeks from today I still feel like I seriously need to get pumped up for this trip, ‘cuz I’m not feelin’ it. I think there are several reasons for this lack of electricity; 1) I am never thrilled about leaving my kiddos for any length of time, but 3 days or 5 days is great. Usually a much needed break on both ends. This trip, however, will end up being 9 days. The trip itself is Saturday to Saturday, but with our itinerary, we’ll probably be dropping off the kids Friday night and we won’t be home till after midnight the next Saturday, so we may not get them ‘til Sunday. On top of that, last night I was with a friend at Painter’s Pottery and my daughter called (who was exhausted from having a sleepover the night before and therefore very emotional) and cried, bawling her head off so much I could barely understand her, “Mom, I’m afraid you’re gonna die and I don’t know what I would do without you!” Now, she was worried about me being out late at night, and I don’t think it had anything to do with the mission trip, BUT, they do know that the trip is right around the corner… I felt terrible and helpless. When my hubby got on the phone I told him to give her extra lovin’ before she went to bed. Finally, under the kid category, we are leaving our kiddos with some very dear friends. The problem is that being involved in different ministries, family schedules etc. we don’t get to see them too much. Honestly, I feel bad about leaving my kiddos there, like, even though we never see you, have fun with our kids, DUMP! I KNOW they are happy to have them, but still, I feel bad. 2) Money… With a new church launch and a job that I don’t get very many hours, I am uneasy about taking a week off of work, from the few hours that I do get. We are barely keeping our heads above water, and a week of work DOES make a huge difference in our already shoestring budget. I’m praying for peace, but so far I’m pretty sure I’m getting in the way. 3) I’m trying not to get bent out of shape about this one, but our travel itinerary stinks! We told them which airline we wanted to fly and which route (it was the same price as other airlines etc) BUT we didn’t get that airline OR route. Instead, we will be making several stops… and getting in at 11:30 pm. UGH! If we’re lucky (even though I don’t believe in luck) we’ll get to the SCORE hotel at 1 am. That in and of itself isn’t horrible, but knowing that Sunday morning we have to leave at 5:30 am to go to a town 4 hours away to worship with our friends from Mission Possible, we’re gonna be tired! Normally, this kind of stuff doesn’t bother me, being on the mission field you HAVE to be flexible, but for some reason, there’s a foothold of aggravation in me. I cannot take this attitude with me, because this is the kind of attitude that is contagious, definitely NOT in a good way.

So, all that being said, I know I’ve been a prayer request hog lately, but if you wouldn’t mind praying for this trip: for peace, for unity among team members, for God’s provision, for our attitudes (especially MINE!), for strength, for the outreach and ministry – that God would use us and bless the socks of those precious Dominicans! I love this country and I want this trip to count for eternity!! (Oh, look, I’m getting a bit excited!) Thanks!!!

Any thoughts??

