My Ministry

MINISTRY
As I shared in my testimonies, early in ministry I really struggled with asking God, “What is my ministry?” I would cry out to Him, “What do you want me to do? “What is my purpose in life?” All those prayers and I was waiting for the magic answer, what He wanted me to be doing for the rest of my life. I learned in those early years, especially those first few months overseas, that He wasn’t going to give me the roadmap for my entire life, but He just wanted me to serve Him daily, and the “task” may change from day to day, week to week, month to month or year to year. If we look at Jesus’ ministry, He didn’t just do one thing, or stay in one place. He did whatever the Father put before Him. Maybe that was teaching in the Temple or baptizing in the Jordan. He went to many towns and villages and healed people. A lot of the time, He hung out with children, loving on them (I think that’s why children are so important to me personally and to our church, because they are so important to Jesus!) At times His ministry was to protest, stand up for what was right. Other times His ministry was to endure or remain silent. Gracia Burnam said that even during the horrific experience of being held captive, she and her husband would “rejoice in serving the Lord where they were.”

This morning’s message caused me to reflect on the many areas the Lord has allowed me to serve Him in; Wifey Ministry, Mommy Ministry, Music Ministry, Teaching, Evangelism, Compassion, Organizing, Children’s & Women’s Ministry, Teen Ministry, Church Ministry, Mission Ministry, Hospitality, Encouragement… Recently I’ve added a new job to my life. I believe this job is a gift from God and it also is a ministry to and from Him. It all happened so fast and at just the right time! While I wasn’t planning on getting a job because I was going to be helping Kevin with our new “ministry” (on top of the Wifey, Mommy and Homeschooling ministries J), I see this as yet another unexpected way to serve the Lord. First and foremost because when we do something, we should do it to the best of our abilities for God’s glory. “Whatever you do, do everything for God’s glory.” 1 Cor. 10:31 Who knows what opportunities lie ahead because of this new endeavor? (uh, He does). Also, God is allowing me to earn some income for our family while we are in this transition time of ministries and beyond (for example, one thing I’m excited about, personally, is the opportunity to participate in retirement savings. Since we have been in ministry, one area that stays pretty low is our finances. This employment will help us to start saving once again for the future. Yea!) So, following the example of Gracia Burnham and also that of Jesus Himself, I am rejoicing in serving the Lord where I am today!

Any thoughts??

