Halos-n-Logs

As predictable as rain in Ohio in April are children when another child is getting into trouble. I see this with my kids (often…) and with other kids. For example, when one of my kids is getting into trouble, getting a “talkin’ to” or getting disciplined, this bright, glowing HALO appears above the head(s) of the other child(ren). They are sitting so smugly thinking, “I didn’t do anything wrong.” “Man, glad I didn’t do _____” or “I sure am being good today.”

This is the same for Christians. When we see another Christian struggling in an area that we are not currently struggling in, or do something that we would never consider doing, our bright, glowing HALO emerges. Romans12:3 tells us “not to think of yourself more highly than you should think.” It’s easy for me, or any of us, to evaluate or compare ourselves to others in our lives, and sit smugly and think, “I’m glad I don’t have a problem with …” or “Can you believe so-n-so did such-n-such?” Jesus also warns us not to judge, asking the question in Matt. 7:3, “Why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye, but don’t notice the log in your own eye?” I find Jesus telling me, gently yet firmly, to put my halo away and worry about my own logs. For heaven’s sake, I could build a cabin with all of my own logs J. I love the quote on my niece’s myspace. It goes like this, “Some people have issues, I’m one of them.” I would say that is more like the attitude Jesus would like to see in us. WTG Lauren!

Any thoughts??

